Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Visiting faculty at the top six law schools, 2015-16, 4th & Penultimate draft


As I've done in the past, I'm posting a list of the visiting professors (who hold university appointments elsewhere) at the top six law schools, the schools that are "top six" by almost all measures of faculty quality--which are also the schools that also typically have the most visiting professors on a regular basis. While many visiting stints are made with an eye to possible permanent appointment, not all are; some are so-called "podium" visits, which aim to fill an immediate teaching need at the school. By my calculation, for example, maybe 5% of the visits last year resulted in (or are in process of resulting in) offers of permanent employment--perhaps a slightly higher percentage of the non-podium visits resulted in such offers. Often visitors from local schools in the area are invited for podium visit purposes--though some "locals" may also be "look-see" visitors, i.e., under consideration for appointment. NYU also has a fair number of "enrichment" and "global" visitors, well-known senior folks who are keen to spend some time in New York, but who aren't necessarily interested in, or being considered for, lateral moves. (Columbia gets some of these folks too.) From the outside, of course, it's very hard to tell all these apart, so here, without further comment, are the visiting professors for 2015-16; please e-mail me about omissions or corrections (though I'm hopeful this is the final version).

Please note that not every visit, below, is for the entire academic year; indeed, my guess is at least half are not, meaning students can expect many of these faculty to *also* be teaching at their home institution. In the case of HLS, many of the visitors come in the Winter Term, i.e., just the month of January.

Please also note that this is supposed to be a list of visiting faculty who have gone through some kind of appointments process at the school at which they are visiting, whether a process for look-see visitors, "enrichment" visitors, or podium visitors.  These are supposed to be faculty who are teaching at the host school and who are being paid by the host school to teach.

Columbia Law School

Michelle Wilde Anderson (Stanford University)

Susanna Augenhofer (Humboldt University, Berlin)

Aharon Barak (Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya)

Noa Ben-Asher (Pace University)

Brian Cheffins (Cambridge University)

Albert Choi (University of Virginia)

Hanoch Dagan (Tel Aviv University)

Rosalind Dixon (University of New South Wales)

David Enoch (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)

Lindsay Farmer (University of Glasgow)

James Forman (Yale University)

Sudhir Krishnaswamy (Azim Premji University)

Katja Langenbucher (Goethe University, Frankfurt)

Jennifer Laurin (University of Texas, Austin)       

Alessio Pacces (Erasmus University, Rotterdam)

Dennis Patterson (European University Institute; Rutgers University, Camden; University of Swansea)

Knut Benjamin Pissler (Max Planck Institute)

Sophie Robin-Olivier (University of Paris I-Pantheon/Sorbonne)

Russell Robinson (University of California, Berkeley)

Victor Rodriguez-Rescia (DePaul University)

Sonia E. Rolland (Northeastern University)

Scott Shapiro (Yale University)

Dan Simon (University of Southern California)

Julie Suk (Cardozo Law School/Yeshiva University)

Mila Versteeg (University of Virginia)

Rose Cuison Villazor (University of California, Davis)

Harvard Law School

Kenneth Anderson (American University)

Robert Anderson (University of Washington, Seattle)

Jack Beermann (Boston University)

Ryan Bubb (New York University)

Amy Cohen (Ohio State University)

Daniel Coquilette (Boston College)

Michele DeStefano (University of Miami)

Bala Dharan (Graduate School of Management, Rice University)

Avihay Dorfman (Tel Aviv University)

Kimberly Ferzan (University of Virginia)

Andrew Gold (DePaul University)

Iris Goldner Lang (University of Zagreb)

Paul Horwitz (University of Alabama)

William Hubbard (University of Chicago)

Nancy King (Vanderbilt University)

Alexandra Klass (University of Minnesota)

Alexandra Lahav (University of Connecticut)

Sanford Levinson (University of Texas, Austin)

James Liebman (Columbia University)

Odette Lienau (Cornell University)

Christian List (Poli Sci & Philosophy, London School of Economics)

David Luban (Georgetown University)

Catharine MacKinnon (University of Michigan)

Kristin Madison (Northeastern University)

Florencia Marotta-Wurgler (New York University)

Tim McCormack (University of Melbourne)

Ruth Okediji (University of Minnesota)

Tamara Peresin (University of Zagreb)

Aziz Rana (Cornell University)

Barak Richman (Duke University)

Angela Riley (University of California, Los Angeles)

Arden Rowell (University of Illinois)

Stephen Sachs (Duke University)

James Salzman (University of California, Los Angeles)

David Schizer (Columbia University)

Rick Su (State University of New York, Buffalo)

Victor Tadros (University of Warwick)

George Triantis (Stanford University)

Rebecca Tushnet (Georgetown University)

Alain Laurent Verbeke (University of Leuven/University of Tilburg)

Melissa Wasserman (University of Illinois, moving to University of Texas, Austin)

New York University School of Law

Dorit Beinisch (Open University, Israel)

Eyal Benvenisti (Tel Aviv University)

Charles Cameron (Politics Dept., Princeton University)

Horst Eidenmueller (Oxford University)

Michael Klausner (Stanford University)

Phoebe Okowa (Queen Mary College, London)

Robert  Rabin (Stanford University)

Wojciech Sadurski (University of Sydney)

Luis Schoueri (University of Vienna)

Marco Torsello (University of Verona)

Tess Wilkinson-Ryan (University of Pennsylvania)

Stanford Law School

Jennifer Chacon (University of California, Irvine)

Jonathan Glater (University of California, Irvine)

Ed Kleinbard (University of Southern California)

Edward Rock (University of Pennsylvania) 

University of Chicago Law School

Derrick Darby (Dept of Philosophy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Zev Eigen (Northwestern University)

Robin Kar (University of Illinois)

Daniel Kelly (University of Notre Dame)

Prasad Krishnamurthy (University of California, Berkeley)

Tamar Krichelie-Katz (Tel Aviv University)

Leandra Lederman (Indiana University, Bloomington)

Ariel Porat (Tel Aviv University)

Daria Roithmayr (University of Southern California)

Saura Masconale (School of Gov't & Public Policy, University of Arizona)

Simone Sepe (University of Arizona)

Holger Spamann (Harvard University)

Sonja Starr (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

John Tasioulas (King's College, London)

Urska Velikonja (Emory University)

Yale Law School

Richard Albert (Boston College)

Michelle Anderson (City University of New York)

Phillip Bobbitt (Columbia University)

Steven Calabresi (Northwestern University)

Emmanuel Gaillard (Sciences Po, Paris)

Julie Goldscheid (City University of New York)

Dieter Grimm (Humboldt University, Berlin)

Mark Hall (Wake Forest University)

Johanna Kalb (Loyola University, New Orleans)

Christina Mulligan (Brooklyn Law School)

David Schizer (Columbia University)

Lawrence Solan (Brooklyn Law School)

Edward Stein (Cardozo Law School/Yeshiva University)

Patrick Weil (University of Paris I, Pantheon-Sorbonne)

Taisu Zhang (Duke University)


Faculty News | Permalink