Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Six law faculty elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

They are:  T. Alexander Aleinikoff (Georgetown; currently on leave at the U.N. High Commission for Refugees); Tom Ginsburg (Chicago); Christine Jolls (Yale); Dan Kahan (Yale); John Manning (Harvard), and Pamela Samuelson (Berkeley).

ADDENDUM:  As we have had occasion to note before, there are sometimes surprising errors of omission in who is and is not elected to the AAAS, usually explicable in terms of institutional affiliations or intellectual (sometimes personal) animosities (as in the case of the non-election of most of the major American Legal Realists a half-century ago--Harvard dominated in the Academy then, and Harvar was the bastion of anti-Realist reaction).   While faculty are usually elected later in their careers, it really is quite astonishing at this point not to find all of these fairly senior faculty (60 or older) already elected (this is off the top of my head, and is hardly an exhaustive list; some of the prior omissions were rectified in the interim):   Bernard Black (Northwestern), R.A. Duff (Minnesota), Michael Moore (Illinois), Stephen Perry (Penn), Paul Robinson (Penn), and Larry Sager (Texas), among others.

Faculty News | Permalink