Thursday, July 30, 2009

Visiting Professors at the Top Law Schools, 2009-10 (2nd Draft)

As I've done before, I'm posting a list of the visiting professors (who hold university appointments elsewhere) at the top six law schools, the schools that are "top six" by almost all measures of faculty quality--which are also the schools that also typically have the most visiting professors on a regular basis.  While many visiting stints are made with an eye to possible permanent appointment, not all are; some are so-called "podium" visits, which aim to fill an immediate teaching need at the school.   By my calculation, for example, less than 20% of the visits last year resulted in (or are in process of resulting in) offers of permanent employment--but a somewhat higher percentage of the non-podium visits resulted in such offers.  Often visitors from local schools in the area are invited for podium visit purposes--though some "locals" may also be "look-see" visitors, i.e., under consideration for appointment.  NYU also has a fair number of "enrichment" and "global" visitors, well-known senior folks who are keen to spend some time in, but who aren't necessarily interested in, or being considered for, lateral moves.  (Columbia gets some of these folks too.)  From the outside, of course, it's very hard to tell all these apart, so here, without further comment, are the visiting professors for 2008-09; please e-mail me about omissions or corrections, and I will update the list at various intervals over the next couple of months and move it to the front.

Please note that not every visit, below, is for the entire academic year; indeed, my guess is at least half are not, meaning students can expect many of these faculty to *also* be teaching at their home institution.  In the case of HLS, many of the visitors come in the Winter Term, i.e., just the month of January.

Yale Law School

Jeffrey Fagan (Columbia University)

Cristina Rodriguez (New York University)

Kim Lane Scheppele (Princeton University)

Alexander Stremitzer (University of Bonn)

Patrick Weil (University of Paris, Pantheon-Sorbonne)

David Weisbach (University of Chicago)

Harvard Law School

Robert T. Anderson (University of Washington)

Hanina Ben-Menahem (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)

Albert Choi (University of Virginia)

Alma Cohen (Tel-Aviv University)

Julie Cohen (Georgetown University)

Daniel Coquillette (Boston College)

Lori Fisler Damrosch (Columbia University)

Bada Dharon (Rice University)

Horst Eidenmuller (Ludwig-Maxmillians University)

Marie-Claire Foblets (Catholic University of Leuven)

Annette Gordon-Reed (New York Law School)

Gillian Hadfield (University of Southern California)

Ian Haney Lopez (University of California, Berkeley)

Mattias Kumm (New York University)

Maximo Langer (University of California, Los Angeles)

Richard Lazarus (Georgetown University)

Sanford Levinson (University of Texas, Austin)

Lynn LoPucki (University of California, Los Angeles)

Catharine MacKinnon (University of Michigan)

Michael McConnell (Stanford University)

Geoffrey Miller (New York University)

Erin Murphy (University of California, Berkeley)

Jide Nzelibe (Northwestern University)

Anne Joseph O'Connell (University of California, Berkeley)

James Pfander (Northwestern University)

Jedediah Purdy (Duke University)

Cristina Rodriguez (New York University)

Theodore Ruger (University of Pennsylvania)

Katherine Silbaugh (Boston University)

Dan Simon (University of Southern California)

Lawrence Suskind (Massachussetts Institute of Technology)

Michael Vandenbergh (Vanderbilt University)

Alain Verbeke (University of Leuven; University of Tilburg)

G. Edward White (University of Virginia)

Jonathan Wiener (Duke University)

Tobias Wolff (University of Pennsylvania)

University of Chicago Law School

Donald Braman (George Washington University)

Ruoying Chen (Peking University)

Alicia Davis Evans (University of Michigan)

Leslie J. Green (Oxford University)

Youngjae Lee (Fordham University)

Ariel Porat (Tel-Aviv University)

Christopher Serkin (Brooklyn Law School)

James Spindler (University of Southern California)

Julie Suk (Cardozo Law School)

Wataru Tanaka (University of Tokyo)

Stanford Law School

Michael Asimow (University of California, Los Angeles)

Daphne Barak-Erez (Tel-Aviv University)

Siegfried Fina (University of Vienna)

Jim Gibson (Washington University, St. Louis)

Robert Gordon (Yale University)

Adriaan Lanni (Harvard University)

Donald Lewis (University of Hong Kong)

Leo Romero (University of New Mexico)

William Simon (Columbia University; also emeritus, Stanford)

George Triantis (Harvard University)

Jonathan Zitrain (Harvard University)

Columbia Law School

Akhil Amar (Yale University)

John Armour (Oxford University)

Neil Cohen (Brooklyn Law School)

Klaus Hopt (Max Planck Institute)

Michael Knoll (University of Pennsylvania)

Shahar Lifshitz (Bar-Ilan University)

Susan Marks (King's College, London)

Thomas J. Miles (University of Chicago)

Anne Joseph O'Connell (University of California, Berkeley)

Deborah Rhode (Stanford University)

Yuval Shany (Hebrew University)

Paul Stephan (University of Virginia)

New York University School of Law

Jonathan B. Baker (American University)

Samuel Buell (Washington University, St. Louis)

Charles Cameron (Princeton University)

Richard Epstein (University of Chicago)

Annette Gordon-Reed (New York Law School)

Ian Haney-Lopez (University of California, Berkeley)

John Langbein (Yale University)

Erin Murphy (University of California, Berkeley)

Richard Nagareda (Vanderbilt University)

Jide Nzelibe (Northwestern University)

Katharina Pistor (Columbia University)

Robert Rabin (Stanford University)

Roberta Romano (Yale University)

Jacqueline E. Ross (University of Illinois)

Daniel Rubinfeld (University of California, Berkeley)

Geoffrey Stone (University of Chicago)

David Walker (Boston University)

Tobias Wolff (University of Pennsylvania)

Faculty News | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Visiting Professors at the Top Law Schools, 2009-10 (2nd Draft):